Join Us on Social Media

Coalition Letter to OMB

September 22, 2017

The Honorable Mick Mulvaney

Director, Office of Management and Budget

The White House

Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear. Mr. Director,

The Congressional Budget Office (CBO) has stated that it will score the GrahamCassidy bill to determine if the overall savings allow it to be considered under reconciliation rules. This overall score will allow the bill to be considered on the Senate floor, should, as all expect, Graham-Cassidy meet the savings targets.

However, under the Senate rules governing reconciliation bills, each provision of the bill must have a score. CBO has publicly stated that it will not provide the U.S. Senate a provision-by-provision score for Graham-Cassidy.

The Parliamentarian, under reconciliation rules, if faced with a provision of Graham-Cassidy without a score, is obligated to remove that provision from the bill. In order to avoid the wholesale deletion of such provisions of the GrahamCassidy bill, the Chairman of the Budget Committee may compel by instruction the Parliamentarian to consider a specific score for a specific provision of Graham-Cassidy.

Therefore, we request you detail such staff as necessary to score each provision of the Graham-Cassidy bill to be prepared for the expected absence of a provision–byprovision score from CBO, so that the Chairman of the Senate Budget Committee may instruct the Parliamentarian to use the Office of Management and Budget score.

Thank you for your active consideration of this request.


Dan Perrin, HSA Coalition

Dean Clancy, former Program Associate Director (“Health PAD”), White House Office of Management and Budget (OMB), 2004-2006

Bob Carlstrom, President (Former OMB Executive, Reagan), The Carlstrom Group,

LLC Gov. Gary Johnson, Hon. Chair, Our America Initiative

Jim Martin, Chairman, 60 Plus Association

Nancy Piotter, Executive Director, Virginians for Quality Healthcare

Phil Kerpen, President, American Commitment

Andrew Langer, President, Institute for Liberty

Dick Patten, President, American Business Defense Council

Grover Norquist, Americans for Tax Reform

Heather Higgins, CEO, Independent Woman’s Voice

Carrie Lukas, President, Independent Woman’s Forum

Colin Hanna, President, Let Freedom Ring

Beverly Gossage, Past President and current Legislative Chair GKCAHU

Gregory T. Angelo, President, Log Cabin Republicans

Kathryn Serkes, CEO, Doctor Patient Medical Association

CL Gray, MD, President, Physicians for Reform

Patrick D. Purtill, Director of Legislative Affairs, Faith and Freedom Coalition

Thomas Schatz, President, Council for Citizens Against Government Waste