Join Us on Social Media

Letter to Senator Mitch McConnell

September 21, 2017

The Honorable Mitch McConnell

Majority Leader United States Senate

Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Mr. Majority Leader:

We write to thank you for making every effort to expedite the score of GrahamCassidy by the Congressional Budget Office.

Without your action, there would be no chance Graham-Cassidy will be considered on the Senate floor, since, as you know, the U.S. Senate is not able to bring the bill to the floor for consideration without a score. Therefore, given that the health care reconciliation vehicle expires at midnight, September 30, 2017, the fate of this legislation could be decided by CBO simply not producing a timely score.

If, despite your critically important action, the lack of a score or the lack of a timely score prevents the consideration of Graham-Cassidy on the Senate floor prior to the deadline, it will raise some troubling questions about the leadership and staffing of CBO, its authority and its role in the legislative process, and the transparency and accuracy of its scoring methods.


Dan Perrin, HSA Coalition

Thomas Schatz, Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

Phil Kerpen, President, American Commitment

Patrick D. Purtill, Director of Legislative Affairs,

Faith and Freedom Coalition

Nancy Piotter, Executive Director, Virginians for Quality Healthcare

Dean Clancy, former Program Associate Director (“Health PAD”), White House Office of Management and Budget (OMB), 2004-2006

Gov. Gary Johnson, Hon. Chair, Our America Initiative

Grover Norquist, Americans for Tax Reform

Dan Weber, President, Association of Mature American Citizens

Daniel Schneider, Executive Director, American Conservative Union

Jim Martin, Chairman, 60 Plus Association

George C. Landrith, President & CEO, Frontiers of Freedom

Dick Patten, President, American Business Defense Council

Alfonso Aguilar, President, Latino Partnership for Conservative Principles

Bob Carlstrom, President, The Carlstrom Group, LLC

Gregory T. Angelo, President, Log Cabin Republicans